PHD STUDENTS IN the School of Architecture + Cities are engaged in wide-ranging areas of research that fall within and across the School’s five research groups: Architectural Humanities; Emerging Territories; Making and Practice; Place and Experience; and Transport and Mobilities. Recently completed theses have made pioneering contributions to global scholarship in tourism, climate change, transport and architectural theory. Those who completed this year include Frances Kremarik, whose thesis entitled ‘The Changing Nature of Long-Haul Traffic on the North Atlantic: An examination of airline network strategies’; and Lida-Evangelia Driva who was awarded an MPhil for her thesis entitled, ‘The Operation of the Hidden: Towards an understanding of architectural urban space; the case of Omnia Square’.

In addition to standard-route PhDs, we continue to supervise students working towards PhD by Published Work and PhD by Practice. The practice and published work models offer routes into postgraduate study for outstanding professionals with an established body of work and have helped to forge valuable connections with industry. Recently completed PhDs by Published Work include ‘Doors that could take you Elsewhere: The architectural practice of reading science fiction’ by Amy Butt and ‘The Values of Urban Design – Spatial Models’ by Alain Chiaradia. Nicola Murphy completed a PhD by Practice entitled, ‘Slow Practice: (Re)drawing time balancing narratives, ghosts and tensions’.

This year Dr Constance Lau was successful in securing a prestigious Techne Collaborative Doctoral Award, in partnership with the Zaha Hadid Foundation. Constance will be supervising Architecture + Cities alumna, Laura Nica, who won the studentship.

For further details about our PhD programme, visit here.

Kate Jordan, PhD Coordinator

  • Hala Alnaji
  • Katherine Bartlett
  • Athena Brook
  • Alain Chiaradia
  • Didem Ertem
  • Minerva Fadel
  • Jennifer Fernando
  • Karen Fitzsimon
  • Shengkang Fu
  • Sugandhi Jayaraman
  • Prajakta Kalamkar
  • Iman Keaik
  • David Littlefield
  • David Mathewson
  • Joao Matos Da Silva
  • Nicola Murphy
  • Anishka Narula
  • Simona Palmieri
  • Dulce Pedroso
  • Luis Pinto
  • Marzena Piotrowska
  • Dawn Rahman
  • Fred Raphael
  • Rofayda Salem
  • Rick Schumaker
  • Rachel Simmonds
  • Xinyao Song
  • Lorna Stevenson
  • Sally Stone
  • Asa Henry Patrick Thomas
  • Cristina-Alexandra Trifan
  • Carine Woiezechoski
  • Mengran Zhu

MORE is a part of Open Studio project run by the School of Architecture + Cities at the University of Westminster to make its design, research and practice-based work available online while it is happening.

University of Westminster is a charity and a company limited by guarantee. Reg no. 977818 England.